Portal of the justice authorities of the federal and state governments

E-Justice-Rat

Digitalization of all areas of life is the central issue of our time. Increase in digital data availability, improvement in data quality and enhancement of data space hold a tremendous potential for the well-being of our society. In this development, digitalization should be conducted with due sense of proportion always keeping an eye on data security and data protection for the benefit of personal rights and economic interests.

The justice systems will increasingly become part of the digital world. As early as on 1 st January, 2018 the electronic filing procedure has been made available so that legal actions, applications and written submissions can now also be filed with law courts, public prosecution authorities and court appointed receivers. Starting from 1 st January 2022, lawyers, authorities and legal entities under public law all over Germany shall be required to actively participate in the electronic filing procedure. Even today lawyers, due to professional legal requirements, provide a post box to receive electronic notifications. In addition, all federal and state judicial administrations currently work on the provision of preconditions for the introduction of mandatory use of the electronic case file by 1 st January 2026.

By developing nationwide uniform procedures for the register system (AuRegis), the Land Registry (dabag) and all other areas regarding law courts and public prosecution authorities (gefa), the justice system will be able to also meet future challenges by utilizing modern state-of-the-art software architecture and data structures in a well-prepared manner. Interoperability and convergence of procedures and infrastructures used nationwide is facilitated by the control and management structure of the e-justice council established in the meantime. In doing so, we now must take the operation of software into account, for instance, by envisaging the option of using internal justice system cloud-based solutions.

The e-justice council enables the federal and state judicial authorities in all their endeavors not only to follow the requirements of the federal law and technological progress, but also to actively form the process taking into consideration the specific nature of the judicial branch of government.

In a digital world, it is becoming increasingly important for the judiciary, based on well-founded information base, to make sovereign decisions on any use of software products and technologies. This includes providing transparency with regard to any dependencies that go along with certain technologies, and also increased usage of state-of-the-art software architecture and avoidance of proprietary standards. Thus, together with the IT planning council, the e-justice council can facilitate the digital sovereignty of the public administration and the judiciary.

Dirk Wedel Dirk Wedel
Undersecretary in the Ministry of Justice of the federal state of North-Rhine Westphalia
E-justice council chairman

ServiceCenter
0211 837 1917
redaktion@justiz.de

nach oben

Justizportal des Bundes und der Länder

E-Justice-Rat

Die Digitalisierung aller Lebensbereiche ist das Thema unserer Zeit. Die Erhöhung digitaler Datenverfügbarkeit, die Verbesserung der Datenqualität und die Erweiterung von Datenräumen bergen erhebliche Potentiale für das Wohl der Gesellschaft. Hierbei gilt es, die Digitalisierung mit Augenmaß zu betreiben und Datensicherheit sowie Datenschutz zur Sicherung von persönlichen Rechten und wirtschaftlichen Interessen stets im Blick zu behalten.

 

Auch die Justiz wird immer mehr Teil der digitalen Welt werden. Bereits seit dem 1. Januar 2018 ist der elektronische Rechtsverkehr eröffnet, so dass Klagen, Anträge und Schriftsätze auch elektronisch bei den Gerichten, Staatsanwaltschaften und Gerichtsvollziehern eingereicht werden können. Ab dem 1. Januar 2022 sind Rechtsanwältinnen und Rechtsanwälte, Behörden und juristische Personen des öffentlichen Rechts bundesweit verpflichtet, aktiv am elektronischen Rechtsverkehr teilnehmen. Schon heute hält die Rechtsanwaltschaft aufgrund berufsrechtlicher Verpflichtung ein besonderes elektronisches Postfach zum Empfang elektronischer Nachrichten bereit. Alle Bundes- und Landesjustizverwaltungen arbeiten zudem aktuell daran, die Voraussetzungen zur verpflichtenden Einführung der elektronischen Akte zum 1. Januar 2026 zu schaffen.

 

Mit der bundeseinheitlichen Entwicklung der neuen Fachverfahren für das Registerwesen (AuRegis), das Grundbuch (dabag) und alle anderen Bereiche der Gerichte und Staatsanwaltschaften (gefa) wird die Justiz in der Lage sein, auch zukünftige Herausforderungen mithilfe von modernen Softwarearchitekturen und Datenstrukturen gut vorbereitet anzugehen. Die Interoperabilität und Konvergenz der bundesweit eingesetzten Fachverfahren und Infrastrukturen wird durch die mittlerweile etablierte Kontroll- und Steuerungsstruktur des E-Justice-Rats gefördert. In diesem Zuge gilt es auch die Anforderungen an den Betrieb von Software zu berücksichtigen, etwa durch die Prüfung von Möglichkeiten zur Nutzung von justizeigenen Cloud-Lösungen.

 

Der E-Justice-Rat befähigt die Bundes- und Landesjustizverwaltungen bei all diesen Vorhaben, bundesgesetzliche Verpflichtungen sowie technologischen Fortschritt nicht nur nachzuvollziehen, sondern aktiv unter Berücksichtigung der verfassungsrechtlichen Besonderheiten der rechtsprechenden Gewalt zu gestalten.

 

Es wird in einer digitalen Welt für die Justiz außerdem zunehmend wichtig, auf einer fundierten Informationsgrundlage souveräne Entscheidungen über den Einsatz von Softwareprodukten und -technologien zu treffen. Hierzu gehört die Schaffung von Transparenz über etwaige Abhängigkeiten, die mit bestimmten Technologien einhergehen, aber auch der verstärkte Einsatz moderner Softwarearchitektur und die Vermeidung proprietärer Standards. Gemeinsam mit dem IT-Planungsrat  kann der E-Justice-Rat so die digitale Souveränität der öffentlichen Verwaltung und der Justiz fördern.


Dirk Wedel   

Dirk Wedel
Staatssekretär im Ministerium der Justiz des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen
Vorsitzender des E-Justice-Rats



Weiterführende Informationen:

Organigramm E-Justice-Rat


ServiceCenter
0211 837 1917
redaktion@justiz.de

nach oben